Latest News

Somaliland House of Representatives to vote on a new Electoral Commission

HARGEISA (SD) – Somaliland President Muse Bihi Abdi has today submitted to the House of Representatives, members of the new Somaliland Electoral Commission nominated by the opposition parties, the House of Elders and the President.

Under Somaliland’s electoral law, the president nominates three of the seven members of the electoral commission, the Senate nominates two members, and the two opposition parties nominate one member each.

A statement from the Somaliland presidency said the appointment of the electoral commission follows the mobilization and implementation of electoral matters.

The nomination also comes as Somaliland is embroiled in a political standoff between the opposition and the government over disputed presidential elections, which are currently being mediated by elders in an effort to bring both sides closer.

Somaliland police recently opened fire on prodemocracy protesters in Hargeisa, arresting scores of civilians and national opposition party officials.

Categories: Latest News

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *