Members of the Somaliland electoral commission sworn in despite opposition rejection

Hargeisa(SD)-The chairman of the Somaliland Supreme Court, Justice Adan Haji Ali Ahmed, sworn in the the newly formed National Electoral Commission at the presidential palace.

The new members of the National Electoral Commission, recently approved by the Somaliland House of Representatives, have been contested by the opposition parties under the constitutional violations.

President Bihi has at the ceremony, after the swearing-in of the new commission, urged them to uphold justice and equality as per by the Book of God they have sworn today.

The Election Commission is made up of seven people, but it still lacks the nomination of the Wadani party, and has now been sworn in only the six other members.

Categories: Featured, Latest News

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *