Somaliland: Three National parties Announce elections agreement

Hargeisa(SD)=Somaliland’s three political parties reached an agreement over disputes over parliamentary and local elections, following mediation by the international community.

The three parties have agreed that the members of the electoral commission be increased to 9 members, when approved by Parliament.

They also agreed that the current Somaliland electoral commission should prepare voter registration while the Somaliland electoral commission will hold both voter registration and elections.

If the parliament does not approve the 9-members, then the 7-member electoral commission will over see vote.

Categories: Featured, Latest News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *