Latest News

Jubbaland releases list of remaining four senate candidates

KISMAYO (SD) – Jubbaland state will soon complete the election of Upper House as the southerly state released the names of the candidates who will be vying for the remaining four federal senatorial seats.

According to a statement issued by Jubbaland’s State President Ahmed Mohamed Islam Ahmed Madobe, eight candidates will contest for the four seats, and two of those seats will be reserved for four women candidates.

Jubaland has yet to elect a woman to the Upper Houe despite committing to a 30% quota.

Jubbaland was the first Federal Member State to begin electing senators to Somalia’s incoming parliament. 

However, the process has been fraught with delays since it started in late July.

The first seat will be contested by  Layla Nuh Maah, and Hareda Mohamed Sheikh.

In the second seat, ibrahim Awgab face Farhiya Moalim Abdi.

The third seat is sought after Maryan Farah Kadiye and Samsam Mohamed Bashiir.

Finally, Hassan Dahir Yarow and Ali Mohamed Ali will be running for the fourth seat.

Categories: Latest News, Somalia

Tagged as: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *