Latest News

Jubbland elects 4 senators, two women picked

KISMAYO (SD) – Jubaland lawmakers have elected the last four senators today, selling off the senatorial election of eight seats.

In today’s vote, two women- Maryan Farah Kadiye and Laylo Nur Maah were elected in women-only seats. Other senators elected are Ibrahim Aw-Gaab and Hassan Dahir Yarow.

Jubbaland has joined Puntland, HirShabelle and Somaliland which have wrapped up the exercise.

The Horn of African nation is expected to hold lower house elections in two weeks, paving the way for the presidential election.

President Mohamed Abdullahi Farmajo’s four-year mandate has lapsed last February.

Following months-long political tensions, the federal government announced new plans to hold peaceful parliamentary and presidential elections later this year. 

Categories: Latest News, Somalia

Tagged as: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *