Latest News

PM Roble to chair National Elections Security Committee

MOGADISHU (SD) – Somali prime minister, Mohamed Hussein Roble will chair National Elections Security Committee (NESC) whose task to be in charge of the security of Presidential elections.

The members of NESC were drawn the members mainly from the Somali Police Force and African Union Mission in Somalia (Amisom).

 The presidential election will happen in Mogadishu.

According to Security Plan developed by the Office of the Prime Minister, Elections for the Banaadiri community and Somaliland both of which will happen in Mogadishu will also be secured by the Banaadir Regional Electoral Security Working Group.

The prime minister also formed a state-level electoral security team which will be in charge of the upcoming parliamentary elections.

SEWC will have members from civil society organisations, the state police force, the Darawish paramilitary unit and the Somali National Army head among others.

Somalia’s parliamentary and presidential elections were expected to take place late last year and early year respectively as the mandate of the parliament and that of president lapsed last December and February this year.

On Saturday, Somali Prime Roble appointed federal and state-level electoral teams which will oversee the upcoming parliamentary elections.

The PM’s Office published the names of the 46-member Federal Indirect Election Team and the Federal Dispute Resolution Mechanism.

The State Indirect Elections Team (SIET) for the Federal Member States comprises eight members while for Somaliland, its team has additional three members meaning 11 members serve in the Somaliland SIET.

Categories: Latest News

Tagged as: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *