Latest News

Puntland and Jubbaland ministers elected to lower house of parliament in Garowe

GAROWE (SD) – Members from Puntland and Jubbaland administrations, have been elected to Somalia’s Federal lower house of parliament in Garowe today.

Puntland’s Minister of Planning, Abdikafar Hange, and Puntland’s Minister of State for Labor and Employment, Fardowsa Osman Egal, won an uncontested election at Military Camp 54 in Garowe.

The Minister of State for Finance of the Jubbaland administration, Hirsi Jama Gani, also became a member of the lower house of parliament, after he won Hop#223.

Mohamed Abdirahman Ahmed Haile, has become the fourth person to run in today’s election in Garowe. He won seat #HOP128.

Today’s elections were a foregone conclusion, as certain candidates monopolized the said seats.

Puntland is home to the largest number of cabinet members in both houses of parliament. There are up to 7 incumbent ministers elected so far.

Also, Puntland President Deni is expected to run for the presidency of Somalia, although he has not yet announced his candidacy.

Categories: Latest News

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *