Latest News

Somali Parliament approves new Cabinet

MOGADISHU (SD) – Members of the Somali Parliament confirmed the new Somalia Cabinet of Ministers appointed last week by Prime Minister Hamse Abdi Barre.

As the Speaker of the Somali Parliament, Sheikh Adan Madobe announced, 229 MPs agreed to give the minister a vote of confidence, while 7 MPs refused, and one MP was silent.

The Chairman of the Supreme Court Bashe Yusuf Ahmed then swore in the new ministers at the parliament.

Prime Minister Hamse Abdi Barre thanked the parliamentarians for approving his government, and on the other hand promised to work closely with the parliament.

The government appointed by Prime Minister Hamse Abdi Barre was feared to have lost the confidence of the Parliament due to issues related to power sharing.

Categories: Latest News

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *