Latest News

Somaliland delegates elect two MPs in Mogadishu

MOGADISHU (SD) – Somaliland electoral delegates have today elected two lower house members who represent the northern region in Somalia’s federal parliament.

The elections are being held at the General Kahiye Police Academy in Hamar Jajab district.

The delegates from Somaliland are expected to elect five members who will represent Somaliland in the federal parliament.

Mohamed Abdi Hayir Mareey, former Somali information has defeated Abdirahma Warsame Saed for seat HOP225 by receiving 96 votes, while Yusuf received three votes.

According to the federal election committee, two vote were declared invalid.

Meanwhile Amino Omar won the HOP 202 seat after defeating Amin Osman Diriye by securing all 101 votes.

Candidates will contest three more seats before the day’s end.

Categories: Latest News, Somalia

Tagged as: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *