Latest News

Somaliland’s House of Representatives approves two remaining members of the National Electoral Commission

Hargeisa (SD) – Somaliland’s House of Representatives have today finally confirmed two members appointed by the opposition to Somaliland’s Electoral Commission.

The session, chaired by Speaker of the House, Mr. Bashe Mohamed Farah, was attended by 53 members, and the House of Representatives voted unanimously, approving these members.

Mr. Mohamoud Said Dalmar a Wadani party appointee, was approved by 51 MPs, no one objected and one MP abstained in today’s confirmation vote and Mr. Abdifatah Ibrahim Sheikh, a UCID party appointee, was approved by 49 MPs, no one opposed and three MPs abstained.

The two members approved by the House of Representatives are to join the seven member National Electoral Commission of the Republic of Somaliland.

Its not clear the Lawmakers change of heart, as they’ve just months ago denied the very same appointees they confirmed today.

Categories: Latest News

Tagged as: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *