Latest News

South Korea extends travel ban on Somalia

SEOUL (SD) – South Korean government has extended the travel ban on Somalia, the country’s foreign ministry confirmed Saturday.

In a statement, the ministry said the ban on Somalia along with five other countries was extended for six months.

According to the ministry, the ban was slated to expire on Jan. 31.

“South Korea will extend a travel ban on six countries in the Middle East and Africa as well as some parts of the Philippines for six months due to prolonged security risks, the foreign ministry said Friday,” the statementreadsinpart. 

The ban will also effect Iraq, Syria, Yemen, Libya, Afghanistan and the southern region of the Philippine archipelago — the Zamboanga Peninsula, Sulu, Basilan and Tawi-Tawi.

The ministry said the designated regions are exposed to constant risks of terrorist attacks and political instability that will likely persist for a considerable period of time, 

Travel to Iraq, Syria, Somalia and Afghanistan has been banned since 2007. Seoul imposed the ban on Yemen in 2011, Libya in 2014 and the islands in the Philippines in 2015.

Categories: Latest News, Somalia

Tagged as: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *