Latest News

Voting resumes today in Jowhar for 3 senate seats

MOGADISHU (SD) – Three senators among them two incumbents were elected Tuesday night in HirShabelle state with five seats yet to be filled.

Senator Muse Suudi Yalahow and Fartuun Abdulkadir Karama were re-elected in a tightly contested race that ran into the night.

The third candidate to be elected was Nur Mohamed Anjeh.

The state assembly is expected to resume voting today but it is not clear if the exercise will be concluded today.

HirShabelle now joins the other Federal Member States which have either completed the exercise or are still on course.

Like Galmudug, South West and Jubbaland, HirShabelle is allocated eight seats in the Senate while Puntland and Somaliland have 11 slots.

The Somaliland caucus is yet to start senate elections.

Categories: Latest News, Somalia

Tagged as: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *