Somaliland Parliament rejects opposition nominees to Election Commission

Hargeisa (SD) – Somaliland’s House of Representatives has rejected to confirm the two opposition party’s nominees to Somaliland’s electoral commission this morning.

Today’s extraordinary meeting of the MP’s was called by the country’s president and was presided over by Bashe Mohamed Farah, chairman of the house.

A total of 51 lawmakers were present for the confirmation vote of the Election Commission nominees to representing UCID and Wadani, Somaliland’s opposition parties.

31 MPs voted for Abdikarim Yasin Sheikh Dalmar the Wadani party, 6 voted against him, where14 abstained.

 29 MPs voted for Abdifatah Ibrahim Hassan the UCID party nominee, 8 voted no and 14 members didn’t vote.

The nominees needed 41 votes for their confirmation, but neither of the nominees got the votes needed, at today’s highly publicized parliamentary session.

Categories: Featured, Latest News

Tagged as: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *