Latest News

International community issues statement on Somalia’s election agreement

Mogadishu (SD) – The international community, in a statement on Somalia’s recent electoral process agreement, said it regretted that the announced formula fell short of Somalia’s long-held goal of direct voting for members of parliament in this round of elections.

The international community said it recognizes the agreement announced by President Farmajo and the five federal member states, paves the way for Somalia’s 2020/2021 elections.

The international community expressed its displeasure and indicated that the goal of the Somali government was to achieve a direct vote. They called on the parties to make the election free and fair.


International partners* take note of the agreement announced by the Federal Government of Somalia (FGS) President and the five Federal Member State (FMS) Presidents regarding the 2020/21 electoral process. 

They acknowledge that this agreement resulted from a Somali-led and Somali-owned dialogue among FGS and FMS leaders, and understand that some details of the agreed process are still to be clarified and additional stakeholders may be consulted. 

The partners observe with regret that the announced model falls short of the longstanding Somali goal of direct voting for members of parliament in this electoral cycle. The partners urge that the 2020/21 electoral process be free, fair, transparent and inclusive. 

Looking to the future, international partners encourage rapid progress to establish other Somali democratic institutions, including the judicial services commission and the human rights commission, along with efforts to advance the review of the Provisional Federal Constitution and ensure respect for international commitments on human rights. 

Partners would also welcome a roadmap with clear milestones, agreed among Somali political leaders, to ensure decisive democratic progress going forward. International partners appeal to the FGS and FMS leaders to continue meeting regularly in a spirit of dialogue and compromise to address urgent national priorities, including security and economic reform as well as inclusive politics. 

* Belgium, Denmark, Ethiopia, European Union, Finland, France, Germany, Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD), Ireland, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Sudan, Turkey, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States of America, and the United Nations. 

Categories: Latest News

Tagged as: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *